Vanessa a Nanny for Hire in Tecumseh, MI 49286

Sign Up Now to contact this nanny immediately.

I'm a nanny because:

I love being around children, I am good at my job and enjoy being a part of their lives. The families that I have nannied for have all been for several years, one was for 6 years and until the middle child was old enough to take care of the autistic child on her own. It was a privilege to be there as they grew up and to be an important, caring person in their lives. Nannying also allows for flexibility while I'm in school (I'm currently getting my masters in public affairs at the LBJ school at UT).

Vanessa nanny Gender:Female Age:28 Preferred Wage ($/Wk): 0 - 800+ Ref ID:652228

9 years Nanny 10+ years Babysitting
Drivers License Car Swim
Can care for
Twins/Multiples Disabilities Behavioral Issues Elderly

Availability - Start Date Is Flexible
  Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Early Morning (6a-9a)  
Late Morning (9a-12p)  
Early Afternoon (12p-3p)  
Late Afternoon (3p-6p)  
Early Evening (6p-9p)  
Late Evening (9-12)  
Overnight (12a-6a)  

Position Duration:Permanent / Full-time,Permanent / Part-time

Would prefer to:Live-out Preferred States:MI

My past childcare experience: I nannied for a family of 3 girls starting when I was 16, and nannied for them for about 6 years. The oldest was 12 when I started, she was severely autistic and duties included basics such as feeding her, bathing her, and ensuring her safety. She was an absolute joy to be around and still makes me laugh when I think back to the things she would do. I also nannied for twins for a little over 2 years, they were 10 months old when I started. I worked 48 hour shifts with them and duties included feeding them, waking up with them throughout the night, taking them to play groups and classes, and general childcare. At this same time I nannied for another family of 2 boys, aged 3 and 6, for a little over 2 years. I started babysitting when I was 12 and love being a nanny. It's been wonderful becoming part of a family and helping raise children as they grow up. My nannying style is very loving, clear, and consistent. I learned to be extremely patience working with the girl that had severe autism as it was a needed trait in order to work with her. Her humor made it all worth it. As far as discipline, I use timeouts, one minute per year of age. If a child is doing something they shouldn't, I simply ask them to no longer do behavior x or they will get a time out. If they continue that behavior, I simply out them in time out. After the time out, I reiterate that they were in time out for behavior x, and they should try to not do behavior x. I find that with children, consistently doing what you say is important as it helps them understand that if I throw food, I will get a time out, and it makes it easier to them to understand which behavior is okay and which isn't.

Level of education:College Degree Languages: English,Spanish Nationality:American Country of Residence:US Last login:10/10/2016
Want to contact this Nanny? Sign Up Now or Login if you're already a member.