Katherine a Nanny for Hire in Staunton, VA 24401

Sign Up Now to contact this nanny immediately.

I'm a nanny because:

I will be a great asset to any household because of my passion for working with children and my 6 years of experience as an elementary school teacher. I am caring, perceptive, and patient. I will provide a loving environment for your children and be sensitive to their needs. I am energetic and fun. I have a good sense of humor and love to be silly! I have good rapport with children and connect with them easily. I am a flexible multi-tasker with strong communication skills. I will take initiative and do anything that is needed! I have good common sense and excellent instincts; I can accurately assess a situation and make sound decisions in stressful situations. I am trustworthy, organized, and conscientious. Above all, it is my job to keep your children safe and I take that responsibility very seriously. Prevention is the best protection, so my priority is to predict and spot potential threats and dangers before they ever occur. I will take every precaution to ensure your children’s safety. As a former teacher, I know the importance of reading to children and providing opportunities to explore, create, and learn new things! I will read books to your children daily and plan engaging, hands-on experiences. I will do a different theme every few weeks and plan read-alouds and activities that revolve around that theme. I will take your children on regular outings to libraries, parks, museums, and other age-appropriate activities. I will make exercise a priority by playing outdoor games and taking your children on walks and bike rides. I will prepare kid-friendly, healthy meals for your children. I have a car and I can drop off/pick up children. I can also run errands and do light housework. While teaching, I learned many methods for effectively managing behavior. I prefer to use positive reinforcement to encourage good choices, but I also set firm boundaries when necessary. I always clearly explain and model the desired behaviors to children before expecting them to display those behaviors. I am very consistent in following through with rewards/consequences; this creates a stable environment in which children know what to expect. Every family has their own beliefs about child-rearing, so I would certainly respect and uphold your preferences as I interact with your children. I am committed to providing outstanding childcare! I will protect, affirm, and nurture your children as if they were my own.

Katherine nanny Gender:Female Age:29 Preferred Wage ($/Wk): 700 - 800+ Ref ID:689374

6 years Nanny 2 years Babysitting
Drivers License Car Swim
Can care for
Twins/Multiples Disabilities Behavioral Issues

Availability - Start Date Is Flexible
  Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Early Morning (6a-9a)      
Late Morning (9a-12p)      
Early Afternoon (12p-3p)      
Late Afternoon (3p-6p)      
Early Evening (6p-9p)                
Late Evening (9-12)                
Overnight (12a-6a)                

Position Duration:Permanent / Full-time

Would prefer to:Live-out Preferred States:CA

My past childcare experience: I have some experience working with infants & toddlers, but most of my experience is with children that are of preschool-age and older. From a very young age, I discovered my passion for working with children! In middle school, I started a group for elementary-age girls that met twice a month at our church. I made regular phone calls to the parents, planned hands-on activities, & coordinated fun outings that took place once a month outside of our regular meetings. As a teenager & young adult, I helped in the church nursery, taught ages 2-11 at church, babysat, worked with children on mission trips (in Mexico, Jamaica, AZ, & NJ), & coordinated/carried out VBS programs for churches in NJ & Jamaica. I majored in elementary education in college & I have been a classroom teacher in VA public schools for the last 6 years. I taught pre-K summer school 1 summer & then taught fourth grade for 4 years. I've spent the last 2 years teaching Kindergarten. I love kids and I am committed to providing the very best childcare!!

Additional Comments: I have been married for 5 years and my husband and I currently live in VA. We are planning to relocate to the Bay Area this summer. My interests include working with children, reading, traveling, food, yoga, fashion, music (playing piano, singing), interesting documentaries, & learning new things!

Level of education:College Degree Languages: English Nationality:American Country of Residence:US Last login:8/29/2015
Want to contact this Nanny? Sign Up Now or Login if you're already a member.