Nanny available in Norfolk, VA - 392222 - Nannies4hire.com

Abigail a Nanny for Hire in Norfolk, VA 23505

Sign Up Now to contact this nanny immediately.

I'm a nanny because:

I love children and miss having them around (my girls are 27and 28). I miss their curiosity and their refreshing outlook on life. I get so much satisfaction when I am able to teach/show them something new. If hired I would not just want to be an employee I have lots of love to give to the right family and would love your children as my own. I would also discuss "homeschooling" if you would like to consider the option.

Abigail nanny Gender:Female Age:61 Preferred Wage ($/Wk): 200 - 500 Ref ID:392222

Experience
10+ years Nanny 10+ years Babysitting
Skills
Drivers License Car Swim
Can care for
Twins/Multiples Disabilities

Availability - Start Date Is Flexible
 
  Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Early Morning (6a-9a)  
Late Morning (9a-12p)  
Early Afternoon (12p-3p)  
Late Afternoon (3p-6p)  
Early Evening (6p-9p)  
Late Evening (9-12)  
Overnight (12a-6a)  

Position Duration:No Preference

Would prefer to:Live-out Preferred States:VA


My past childcare experience: As a young adult I had full custody of my younger sister. Shortly after I married and had two girls of my own. To be home and available to them I attended Old Dominion University where I received a BA of Science in Elementary Education. I taught school for 12 years. I know that the search to find a nanny is a daunting task. Good parents are utterly aware that they must find a nanny that is the most suitable to be in charge of their children. My current position will be ending soon. i have been with this family of four children for 3 years now and will be very sad when it ends. my two previous positions were on Long Island and Connecticut. My daughters were raised and live in Norfolk and I came back to be close to them and my new granddaughter. My name is Abigail and I am 56 years old. I have two daughters, Kelly Marie 28and Sarah Peyton 27. I am a former Middle School Teacher with additional training for the younger child. I also have had a number of interesting jobs which you will see if you get as far as my resume. If we never meet I wish you luck in your search for your perfect Nanny. Sincerely, Abigail

Additional Comments: Abby-da-be-do as I have been so fondly named from the children who I've cared for and loved.  No you won't find out how to be crowned an "Abby-da-be-do" in any book and you won't find it on any "Nanny qualification list".   I'm proud to say that I earned that title.  Sometimes I think this is my "calling" and other times I think it is how enjoyable my day is when I am with children. Children don't wear rose colored glasses, they see the world through the eyes of innocence.  I cherish their ability to be unassuming in their judgments and so intellectually curious about the world.   My favorite thing to say is "Lets go on an adventure", this can mean any number of things, but I assure you it will be fun.   I love planned outings to the zoo, playground, to the library and other educational adventures.   My week includes, but is not limited to: To create and carry out daily schedules that meet the physical and emotional needs of the children. Keep detailed daily diary of activities. Meet with parents on a weekly basis to discuss the following week's plans, as well as any disciplinary problems. Record any problems that occur during the week and report situations that need to be addressed by the parents. Prepare and serve meals. Oversee playtime and schedule activities to ensure proper development of social interaction with other children. Effectively handle interventions between children when disagreements arise. If you haven't figured it out yet, I am a Loving, fun and savvy Nanny with extensive knowledge of advanced care techniques. Well versed in managing children of age up to 15 years.  Incredibly flexible (24/7) and possess strong references and CPR/First Aid trained.  I love to bike ride and belong to a biking group, I am a photographer for families and children and an artist in a variety of mediums.  My family loves to tease me saying that I was turning into a crazy doll and cat person.  I have an extensive doll (artist) collection and have my two rescue cats who are my babies. I have two grown children and one precious grand daughter.  I live in the Lockhaven section of Norfolk, which is located on the north west side of the Hampton Blvd bridge. Because this is a military community I believe it is important to understand how they are different from civilian families. I have four years active duty in the USN and 12 years reserve time in the USN and Coast Guard. The first thing on all parents minds is for the safety of their children.  I have 5 years experience as a street police officer, and like I've said many times "Nurses see germs and cops see crime and unsafe situations."


Level of education:College Degree Languages: English Nationality:American Country of Residence:US Last login:8/29/2015
Want to contact this Nanny? Sign Up Now or Login if you're already a member.