Rakiya a Nanny for Hire in Memphis, TN 38134

Sign Up Now to contact this nanny immediately.

I'm a nanny because:

Okay, Let me introduce myself. I am RaKiya. I am 23 years old and I am a graduate student at the University of Memphis. I working towards obtaining my master's degree in Clinical Mental Health Counseling and I plan to become a marriage and family counselor. I have a BA in Psychology with a Child Development minor. At the age of 14, I became a baby sitter to quite a few of my mother's coworkers and I loved their children. Everyday was something new with lots of crafts and activities. This is what made me realize the passion I have for children. I loved what I did and I liked to see the kids happy. I babysat for about 6 years. I tutored for MCS for a semester during TCAP season helping elementary students with reading skills. So I can definitely help children with homework. In school, I was an honor roll student. I graduated from university with a 3.8 GPA. I completed two internships during college to get more involved with kids. I interned at the Memphis campus school with the school counselor. I would observe sessions and help her coordinate school activities as well as assist teachers and tutor children. I also completed an internship at the residential facility where I participated in activities and built rapport with adolescent youth. I loved the internship so much that I decided to take a position there. I also became CPR certified and had first aid training. Once I became a youth counselor at the company I realized that it was not what I imagined. I was employed there for 4 months before I left. I felt like there were so many extra responsibilities in the position, I could not focus on the kids. I also had to deal with scheduling conflicts since it became a problem to balance all the hours I worked there with my schooling. So I decided why not do what I initially did but take it to the next level. I want to be able to give some nice family my all and give joy to their children. I will make everyday a day that they can enjoy. I want to put all my attention on being there for the children and becoming a great role model. I just want to be there and love them like my own.

Rakiya nanny Gender:Female Age:25 Preferred Wage ($/Wk): 400 - 500 Ref ID:635871

6 years Babysitting
Drivers License Car
Can care for
Behavioral Issues

Availability - Start Date Is Flexible
  Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Early Morning (6a-9a)      
Late Morning (9a-12p)      
Early Afternoon (12p-3p)        
Late Afternoon (3p-6p)          
Early Evening (6p-9p)                
Late Evening (9-12)      
Overnight (12a-6a)      

Position Duration:Permanent / Full-time

Would prefer to:Live-out Preferred States:TN

My past childcare experience: Objective To secure a position within an organization that will allow me an opportunity to utilize my educational background and provide psychological counseling for children, adolescents, and young adults. Experience July 2013 - Present Bartlett, TN. Provide supervision over the youth •Develop and plan youth activities •Participate in recreational therapy and client transports •Conduct daily documentation, and teach life skills •Improve youth behavior through therapeutic intervention and coping skills February 2013 – May 2013 Bartlett, TN. Intern •Assisted the staff with leading youth activities, writing milieu documentation and building therapeutic rapport with the youth. August 2013 – December 2012 Memphis, TN. Intern •Managed tutoring, planned student activities, and assisted the teachers and school counselor with clerical duties January 2012 – May 2012 Memphis, TN. Tutor •Tutored children grades 3-5 in reading and language arts skills in preparation for TCAP testing Education Bachelor of Arts - Psychology University of Memphis, Memphis, TN Cumulative GPA: 3.7 Dean’s List: 2009-2013 Graduated Magma Cum Laude Honor: 2013 Leadership and Involvement •Youth Villages •Psi Chi

Level of education:College Degree Languages: English Nationality:American Country of Residence:US Last login:8/29/2015
Want to contact this Nanny? Sign Up Now or Login if you're already a member.