Louise a Nanny for Hire in Jacksonville, FL 32224

Sign Up Now to contact this nanny immediately.

I'm a nanny because:

For the absolute love of it.

Louise nanny Gender:Female Age:64 Preferred Wage ($/Wk): 500 - 600 Ref ID:278759

10+ years Nanny 10+ years Babysitting
Drivers License Car Swim
Can care for
Twins/Multiples Behavioral Issues Elderly

Availability - Start Date Is Flexible
  Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Early Morning (6a-9a)  
Late Morning (9a-12p)  
Early Afternoon (12p-3p)  
Late Afternoon (3p-6p)  
Early Evening (6p-9p)  
Late Evening (9-12)  
Overnight (12a-6a)  

Position Duration:Permanent / Full-time

Would prefer to:Either Live-in or Live-out Preferred States:FL

My past childcare experience: I have been helping to raise children since I was the oldest child of four. In my youth I was a lifeguard and swim instructor and did volunteer work with children. I was a babysitter during my teens. My BS degree was in Family & Child Development. I worked in the school nurseries and did an internship at the girl's youth development center (prison). While working on my Masters Degree of Social Work I helped start a home visitation/education program for new mom's, lead a Parents Annymous Group and was a coleader in an outdoor challenge group for challenged teens. I saw children and families for counseling. I have taught professionals in their corporate settings about issues regarding children. And then 10 years ago I left that world and became a nanny of a 6 month old for a week while a friend's nanny went on vacation. When that nanny didn't return I said I wanted the 20 hours that she had had. By the next year I was taking care of another infant part time. When these 2 positions ended at the same time (the 1st child started school & the 2nd child moved) I cleared my calendar and took on a full time job. I was with Ella since she was 3 months old full time until she started 1st grade. On a part time basis here in Florida I worked for a father who had split custody for 3 girls 4, 6, and 8 yrs old. I am looking for full time work.

Additional Comments: Personal Statement I am the oldest child of four siblings who are all came within 5 years. Growing up my siblings nickname for me was “mother, mother”. At 10 years old I started cooking family meals to help my mother. I was a natural swimmer and swam competitively. At 12 years old I wanted to teach swimming and be a lifeguard but was too young. The Red Cross made special arrangements for me to get certified by doubling all the requirements that were usual for the tests. I passed and became the youngest lifeguard and swim instructor in Florida history. One of my favorite classes to teach was the infant and mother class. During my teenage years, as well as my adult years, all my volunteer work has related to children and people in crisis. In the early 1970’s I went to college and worked toward degrees in four different subjects: education, art, psychiatry and social studies. I was a free spirit during these times and never finished my degree, much to my parents chagrin. In the early eighties I started volunteering at the xx in Macon, Georgia. My mentor (a woman much older than me) and my mother were both in college at this time. As I found work I loved: teaching and supervising volunteers, handling life threatening crisis’s, developing a reassurance program for latchkey children (kids who came home to an empty house whose parent(s) were working) and working with rape victims I followed in Sarah and my mother’s footsteps and returned to college. My goal was to get a BS degree but decided while doing that that I would go ahead and get my Masters degree. My undergraduate degree was in child development and family dynamics. I spent many enjoyable hours working and observing in the child day care facility on campus. My exit paper for my BS was on my belief that we, as a society, should have mandatory child development classes in junior and senior high school which would help us all to be better patents and have understanding about how children think, process and develop. The hardest job in the world (raising children) and no one gets any instruction! As I went for my Masters I continued my path toward helping children and doing volunteer work. My resume will show you details of what I was doing during this time. It will also show you my job experiences that all lead me to being the best nanny I can be. In 2000 a friend of mine had a baby. I was always volunteering to baby-sit but never got the chance. One day Ruth told me their nanny (who was turning out not to be reliable) was going on vacation. I asked Ruth how many hours she came a week. Ruth stated 20 and I told her I would love to fill in. I was my own boss and was flexible with my schedule. I loved taking care of 6 month old Amy and when her nanny did not return from vacation, without a word, I told Ruth I would love to take her place. My nanny career began! As time went on and I did additional things like cleaning up the kitchen or throwing a load of wash in on my own initiative Ruth increased my hours to 30. In January 2001 Ruth told me of a friend of hers, Lynn, who was also not working outside the home and wanted some help to have personal time. I adjusted my schedule again and added 15 hours a week to take care of Emmy who was 6 months old. My hours with Lynn also increased quickly. Since both girls were only children I often had them during the same hours for play dates and for each set of parents could have a date night. They quickly became ‘sisters’ as they called themselves. When Amy was starting in the International School and Amy was moving to Florida I decided to phase out all my other work and become a nanny full time. I started working for the Good’s in July 2004 when Ella was 3 months old. I have worked there since. I started to leave and go part time when Ella started going to Galloway. I wasn’t finding a part time and started looking for a full time one when Janet decided to increase my household management duties to fill in the hours Ella was in school. We have come to another juncture where school is going to be all day and it is sadly time for me to move on. The Good’s would love me part time, however, I need to work in a full time position so change/life happens. My philosophy on being a nanny is that is my job to help support the whole family unit to help with the stressors of parenthood and to help life run as smoothly as possible for everyone. My child raising philosophy includes many different aspects. The first being LOVE. Children cannot get enough love which I believe includes nurturing, hugs, kisses, unconditional acceptance, positive reinforcement, wonderful life enriching experiences and good, consistent boundaries. I believe in natural consequences for inappropriate behavior. I believe in separating the child, as a person, with their behavior (behavior is something they do, not who they are). I believe in expecting good behavior and teaching children what that consists of. I believe that I, as every one of us in a child’s life, am the biggest teacher that they will ever have (they do mimic us down to our facial expressions!). I believe in raising a ‘thinking’ child who is in touch with their feelings as well as the feelings of others. This method raises a child who is responsible and empathetic, who can figure out ways to deal with conflict by using tools they know rather than us having to tell them what to do. Paramount to all of these beliefs is doing them at the appropriate age and development stage of the individual child. In the past decade I have become part of three families. The three kids I took care of are now 10, 8 and 6 (in 10 days) years old. They will always be in my life and they all know it (I remind the constantly!). I am looking for a position where I will stay with the family as long as I have these families or would love to stay even longer. I love raising babies but love older children also. I feel it is important for any family I work for that we are a good match. The way to decide that is to meet and see how it goes. I look forward to meeting you.

Level of education:College Degree Languages: English Nationality:American Country of Residence:US Last login:6/25/2015
Want to contact this Nanny? Sign Up Now or Login if you're already a member.