Michele a Nanny for Hire in Chilliwack, BC V2P 3A1

Sign Up Now to contact this nanny immediately.
Photo Not Available
I'm a nanny because:

My children have all left for Colleges and Universities and my house is very empty now. I miss being a mother. My children suggested becoming a nanny as they had always thought of me as a Mary Poppins.Our family sang everywhere and drew all over everything. I miss making paper snowflakes and paper aeroplanes. I spent 23 years learning about what is important in the practice of raising children.

Michele nanny Gender:Female Age:56 Preferred Wage ($/Wk): 400 - 800+ Ref ID:326536

10+ years Nanny 6 years Babysitting
Drivers License Car Swim
Can care for
Twins/Multiples Disabilities Elderly

Availability - Start Date Is Flexible
  Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Early Morning (6a-9a)  
Late Morning (9a-12p)  
Early Afternoon (12p-3p)  
Late Afternoon (3p-6p)  
Early Evening (6p-9p)  
Late Evening (9-12)  
Overnight (12a-6a)  

Position Duration:No Preference

Would prefer to:Live-in Preferred States:UT, WA, BC

My past childcare experience: I began at age 11 babysitting evenings and all day weekends for a group of Flight Attendants. This lasted until I was approx. 14 yrs old. I was a favourite as I was developing good leadership qualities and always kept my charges busy with games. I was also assisting with a Community Centre providing respite for mothers of mentally and physically challenged children At age 17-19 I supervised 35-90 teens at a summer camp. I learned to be calm in the face of female teen hysteria and drama! At age 25 I began a family and spent 23 years raising 3 fantastic, artistically, and scientifically creative children. At age 40 I began teaching voice and stage movement and spent one year supervising the choir and performers for a local elementary school production, ages 5-12 At age 41 I taught stage movement and voice for the summer camp program which lasted 4 yrs. Ages 8-16 From age 45-47 I taught beginner guitar and voice from my home studio. Ages 8-42 I spent one year working in a home for seniors and learned about caring for patients with dementia. I currently work as a noon hour supervisor at a local elementary school. Interspersed through these periods I raised 3 children and babysat neighbourhood children. My house was a magnet for neighbouring kids and always full of baking smells and children's laughter. The walls were always decorated with the pages of fine art work of tiny fingers. We sang through our play and through our chores. We spent evenings cuddled in a big chair reading books.

Additional Comments: I come from an educated background...Father/engineer Mother/business owner....I had almost completed General Studies in University. I am well dressed, well groomed; I am best suited to a household interested in music, art, science and writing (although I really enjoyed coaching girls soccer grades 5-6) Because of the way I dress and speak I can seem intimidating, (not to children, but, to adults). I rarely drink, only wine with dinner on a special occasion. I believe in healthy ingredients and believe that nutritious meals are the foundation for intelligent minds. I am thrifty! I left a very well paying government job to stay home and raise my children, because I could not find a nanny who could arrive at 4:30 am to begin supervision. I understand the difficult choices women face when juggling motherhood and career. I also understand how stressful it is to entrust ones children to someone outside the family. In my experience naughty children are either over-tired or bored and need redirection or a nap...over reacting to stressed children produces more stress. A relaxed attitude is essential. Structure and routine are important, and can be accomplished even when travelling. Children make fantastic discoveries everyday and these astonishing revelations need to be heard!

Level of education:Some College but Non-Graduate Languages: English,French,German Nationality:Canadian Country of Residence:CA Last login:8/29/2015
Want to contact this Nanny? Sign Up Now or Login if you're already a member.